Updated October 2026. Two kinds of eSIM work in France. A travel eSIM is data-only and installs before you land: Saily sells 1 GB for €3.67, Ubigi 10 GB for €9.20, and Ubigi's 20 GB monthly plan costs €8.28 with no French bank account. Only Orange Holiday (€24.99, 20 GB, 14 days) and Bouygues My European SIM add a real +33 number that receives bank codes. A French operator eSIM such as RED by SFR (€8.99, 120 GB) needs a French IBAN and beats one-off travel buckets after about 29 days.
Key takeaways
- For a 10-day trip, Ubigi is the cheapest 10 GB plan at €9.20 (30 days); Saily is the cheapest entry at €3.67 for 1 GB.
- Need a +33 number for bank or CAF codes without a French bank? Only Orange Holiday (€24.99) and Bouygues My European SIM (€39.90) receive them.
- A RED by SFR contract beats monthly 20 GB travel buckets after about 29 days, but Ubigi's €8.28 monthly plan stays cheaper at every duration for data only.
- Holafly "unlimited" caps the hotspot at 1 GB a day; Saily unlimited keeps the hotspot open with a published 5 GB daily full-speed cap.
- For the Alps and deep countryside, pick an eSIM on Orange (Airalo, Saily, Holafly, Orange Holiday); Ubigi and Jetpac have no Orange access.
Travel eSIM or French operator eSIM: which do you need?
A travel eSIM is the right choice for the first days: it is data-only, activates from abroad, and needs no French paperwork. A French operator eSIM is what you want once you have a French IBAN and an address, because it gives a real French number for banks, CAF, and two-factor codes.
The split has one exception worth knowing. Orange Holiday and Bouygues My European SIM are prepaid eSIMs you buy with any bank card, and both include a +33 number. For a permanent line, switch to a forfait from Orange, SFR, Bouygues, or Free (or Sosh, RED, and B&You). The market is regulated by ARCEP, which oversees operators and number portability.
The two-step setup most newcomers use
Is your phone compatible and how do you activate an eSIM?
You need an eSIM-compatible phone: an iPhone XS or newer, a recent Google Pixel, or a recent Samsung Galaxy flagship. Activation is a QR code or an app install, which downloads the eSIM profile over Wi-Fi. Most phones support dual SIM, so you keep your home line and add a French or travel line alongside it.
- Step 1: Check your phone is eSIM-compatible and not carrier-locked.
- Step 2: Buy the eSIM and receive a QR code by email or in-app.
- Step 3: Install it at home on Wi-Fi; most plans start counting on the first French network attach.
- Step 4: Pick the new eSIM as your data line and enable data roaming if the provider requires it.
The real risk is deleting an installed profile mid-trip. A QR code is single-use once installed, and several brands cannot reissue it without support. Airalo reinstalls on the same device, Nomad needs a deactivation first, and French operators charge €5 to €20 to reissue (Bouygues €20), per operator pages checked in October 2026.
| What changes | eSIM | Physical SIM |
|---|---|---|
| Activation | Minutes, from home, before departure | Shop visit with passport, or 2 to 5 days by post |
| Operator fee | €10 at Orange, Sosh, SFR, RED and Free | €10 at Orange, SFR and Free |
| Calls and SMS | Operator eSIM: full. Travel eSIM: data-only in about 90% of cases | Full |
| Home number | Kept live in dual SIM for your own bank codes | Needs a SIM swap or a second phone |
| Stolen phone | Cannot be pulled out and reused for code interception | Can be removed and misused |
Operator pages and ariase, checked 13 October 2026.
Which are the best eSIMs for France in 2026?
The ranking below mixes travel eSIMs for instant data, the Orange Holiday prepaid eSIM for a +33 number, and native operator eSIMs for residents. Prices were checked on 13 October 2026 and are shown in euros. Several travel brands bill in US dollars, so their euro figures are indicative at 1 US dollar = €0.92; confirm the total at checkout.
Ubigi

A data-only travel eSIM from Transatel, a Paris-based NTT DOCOMO subsidiary, on the Bouygues, Free and SFR networks. France 10 GB for 30 days costs €9.20, and a recurring 20 GB a month costs €8.28. Ubigi bills in US dollars, so both euro figures are indicative.
Why we recommend it: Ubigi's €8.28 monthly 20 GB plan undercuts a RED by SFR contract at every duration and needs no French IBAN.
Best for: Newcomers and students who need data for one to three months before they have a French bank account.
Pros
- +Cheapest 10 GB France plan found
- +Monthly plan with no French bank account
- +French entity, local Paris routing reported
- +Works on Windows eSIM laptops
Cons
- −No Orange network: weaker in the Alps and deep countryside
- −Data-only, no French number
- −Monthly plan auto-renews; cancel only after three months
- France 10 GB, 30 days: €9.20 (data-only)
- France 20 GB a month: €8.28, three-month minimum, app only
- Top up with zero data left and no Wi-Fi
Orange Holiday eSIM

Orange's own prepaid tourist eSIM. The Europe plan gives 20 GB for 14 days at €24.99 with unlimited calls within Europe, 120 minutes to the world, and a real French mobile number. The 100 GB, 30-day plan is €47.99 on promotion, €68.99 at list price. Registration needs a photo ID under French prepaid rules.
Why we recommend it: One of only two eSIMs that give a +33 number receiving OTP codes without a French bank account, on France's best rural network.
Best for: Week-one newcomers and visiting parents who must receive French bank, CAF or préfecture SMS codes.
Pros
- +Receives bank and government SMS codes
- +Buy with any bank card, no French address
- +Orange network, best rural and mountain coverage
Cons
- −Photo-ID registration, not anonymous
- −14-day validity on the 20 GB plan
- −€1.25 per GB, double the cheapest data-only plans
- Europe 20 GB, 14 days, calls and SMS: €24.99
- Europe 100 GB, 30 days: €47.99 promo, €68.99 list
- Unrestricted hotspot, no throttling policy
Saily
A data-only travel eSIM from Nord Security on the Orange and Bouygues networks. France 1 GB for 7 days costs €3.67, 20 GB for 30 days €29.43, and unlimited for 15 days €45.07 with 5 GB a day at full speed. Saily bills in US dollars, so the euro figures are indicative.
Why we recommend it: The cheapest reputable 1 GB entry for France and the only unlimited plan that publishes its daily cap and keeps the hotspot open.
Best for: Weekend visitors on light data, and remote workers who tether a laptop every day.
Pros
- +Cheapest reputable 1 GB plan
- +Hotspot never capped
- +Orange plus Bouygues fallback
- +Built-in ad blocker saves data
Cons
- −App-only purchase
- −Data-only, no French number
- −Speed drops to about 1 Mbps after 5 GB in a day
- France 1 GB, 7 days: €3.67
- France unlimited, 15 days: €45.07 (5 GB a day full speed)
- Unrestricted hotspot on every plan
Airalo
The largest travel-eSIM marketplace. France plans ride the Orange network: 10 GB for 30 days costs €13.80. The 1 GB, 7-day entry plan is about €4.14, but sources disagree on that price, so check airalo.com at checkout. Airalo bills in US dollars, so the euro figures are indicative.
Why we recommend it: Airalo's France plans ride Orange, the best rural and mountain network, and top up on the same installed profile.
Best for: Ski weeks and rural trips where the Orange network matters more than the lowest price.
Pros
- +Orange network, strongest in the Alps
- +Top-ups stack on the same profile
- +Instant QR or in-app install
Cons
- −Rarely the cheapest per GB
- −Refunds for a changed plan come back as Airmoney credit
- −Data-only, no French number
- France 10 GB, 30 days: €13.80
- France 1 GB, 7 days: about €4.14 (unverified)
- Eurolink 5 GB in 39 countries incl. Switzerland: €18.40
Holafly
A data-only travel eSIM built around unlimited plans on the Orange network: 7 days €25.50, 15 days €46.90, 30 days €68.90, and 90 days €128.90. Hotspot sharing is capped at 1 GB a day, and users report slowdowns after 2 to 3 GB in a heavy day.
Why we recommend it: The only unlimited France eSIM sold for 60 and 90 days, at €1.43 a day on the 90-day plan.
Best for: Heavy phone users on a single device who will not tether a laptop.
Pros
- +No gigabyte counting
- +Orange network with 5G
- +24/7 chat support
- +Six-month refund window on unactivated eSIMs
Cons
- −Hotspot capped at 1 GB a day
- −Daily fair-use slowdowns reported
- −Costs about twice a 10 GB plan most tourists never exceed
- France unlimited: 7 days €25.50, 15 days €46.90
- 30 days €68.90, 90 days €128.90
- Extra days added to the same eSIM since 30 September 2026
Free Mobile (Forfait Free 5G+) eSIM

A native French operator eSIM on the Free Mobile network. The Forfait Free 5G+ is €19.99 a month (from €9.99 with a Freebox Pop) for 350 GB with unlimited calls and SMS and 35 GB of EU roaming. The eSIM costs €10 once.
Why we recommend it: At €0.06 per GB, Free 5G+ is the cheapest data per gigabyte in the October 2026 catalogue.
Best for: Settled residents with a French IBAN who want a +33 number and very large data at a flat price.
Pros
- +Lowest cost per GB
- +Real French number for banks, CAF and 2FA
- +35 GB EU roaming included
Cons
- −Needs a SEPA IBAN and a French address
- −Weakest rural and mountain network (ARCEP 2025)
- −Slower to set up than a travel eSIM
- Forfait Free 5G+: €19.99 a month, 350 GB
- €10 one-off eSIM fee
- No commitment, price locked until 2027
RED by SFR eSIM

SFR's online-only brand on the SFR network: 120 GB with unlimited calls, SMS and EU roaming for €8.99 a month, no commitment. The eSIM costs €10 once and arrives in the online customer area. Promo prices rotate, so check the live offer.
Why we recommend it: RED beats one-off 20 GB travel buckets after about 29 days for anyone who already has a French IBAN.
Best for: Students and newcomers who have just opened a French bank account and want to drop their travel eSIM.
Pros
- +Reference cheap French contract
- +5G and EU roaming included
- +eSIM same day after signup
Cons
- −French IBAN and address required
- −Online-only support
- −SFR mid-pack in the mountains
- 120 GB forfait: €8.99 a month
- €10 one-off eSIM fee
- Cancel any month
Verified eSIM prices (as of October 2026)
| Provider | Type | Plan | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | Travel (data-only) | France 1 GB, 7 days | €3.67* |
| Airalo | Travel (data-only) | France 1 GB, 7 days | about €4.14* (unverified) |
| Ubigi | Travel (data-only) | France 20 GB a month, 3-month minimum | €8.28/mo* |
| Ubigi | Travel (data-only) | France 10 GB, 30 days | €9.20* |
| Airalo | Travel (data-only) | France 10 GB, 30 days | €13.80* |
| Orange Holiday | Prepaid, +33 number | Europe 20 GB, 14 days, calls + SMS | €24.99 |
| Holafly | Travel (data-only) | France unlimited, 7 days | €25.50 |
| Saily | Travel (data-only) | France unlimited, 15 days (5 GB a day full speed) | €45.07* |
| Holafly | Travel (data-only) | France unlimited, 15 days | €46.90 |
| Holafly | Travel (data-only) | France unlimited, 30 days | €68.90 |
| RED by SFR | Native operator | 120 GB forfait, no commitment | €8.99/mo + €10 eSIM |
| Free Mobile | Native operator | Forfait Free 5G+ 350 GB | €19.99/mo + €10 eSIM |
Provider pages and price trackers, checked 13 October 2026. * Billed in US dollars: euro figure indicative at 1 US dollar = €0.92, confirm at checkout. Holafly's euro grid per Selectra, September 2026.
Which eSIM gives you a French number that receives bank codes?
Only two prepaid eSIMs give a real +33 number without a French bank account: Orange Holiday at €24.99 for 20 GB over 14 days, and Bouygues My European SIM at €39.90 for 20 GB over 30 days. Both receive the SMS codes that French banks, the CAF and other public services send. Every data-only travel eSIM fails this test, because it has no number at all.
Two products look like a fix and are not. aloSIM bundles a free Hushed number, but it is a US, Canadian or UK VoIP line, and French banks often reject it. BNESIM sells virtual numbers with the same weakness. Both prepaid +33 eSIMs need photo-ID registration, which French prepaid rules require; the step takes minutes online. Native contracts from RED or Free also give a number, but they need a French IBAN. Any French number stays yours when you change operator, under ARCEP portability rules.
| eSIM | Number | French SMS codes | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Orange Holiday | +33, French | Received | €24.99 (20 GB, 14 days) |
| Bouygues My European SIM | +33, French | Received | €39.90 (20 GB, 30 days, €25 call credit) |
| RED by SFR, Free, Sosh | +33, French | Received, needs French IBAN | from €8.99 a month + €10 eSIM |
| aloSIM | Hushed VoIP (US, CA, UK) | Unreliable | €11.04* (5 GB, 30 days) |
| Airalo, Saily, Ubigi, Holafly | None | Not possible | from €3.67* |
Operator and provider pages, Selectra, checked 13 October 2026. * Billed in US dollars, euro figure indicative at 1 US dollar = €0.92.
When does a French SIM become cheaper than a travel eSIM?
A RED by SFR contract at €8.99 a month plus a €10 eSIM fee beats buying a new 20 GB travel bucket each month after about 29 days. For a light user on 5 GB a month, the break-even takes about 4.9 months. A heavy user on 60 GB crosses over in about 20 days.
The surprise is Ubigi's monthly plan. At €8.28 for 20 GB, it costs less than RED at every duration, so there is no crossover at all for data-only use up to 20 GB. A contract only wins when you need calls, SMS codes or more than 20 GB. Without a French IBAN and address the contract column does not exist, so newcomers start on Ubigi or Orange Holiday. Full totals by month sit on the eSIM price research page.
| Monthly use | Travel eSIM reference | Contract wins after |
|---|---|---|
| Light, 5 GB | Saily 5 GB, €11.03 a month | about 4.9 months |
| Moderate, 20 GB | Nomad 20 GB, €19.32 a month | about 29 days |
| Moderate, no IBAN | Ubigi monthly 20 GB, €8.28 | Never: Ubigi stays cheaper |
| Heavy, 60 GB | Ubigi monthly 60 GB, €23.92 | about 20 days |
How much eSIM data do you need for France?
The right amount of eSIM data depends on how you use your phone, not the length of the trip alone. As a rough guide for France, a weekend of maps and messaging needs about 1 to 3 GB, one week of normal use about 5 to 10 GB, and two to three weeks about 10 to 20 GB. A 1 GB plan lasts roughly one day of active sightseeing, so it suits a weekend, not a week.
Navigation, messaging, and web browsing are light, while video streaming and hotspotting drain an allowance fastest. An hour of HD video can use roughly 1 to 3 GB. Most fixed travel plans expire at day 30 with no rollover, so buy one size up rather than two plans. France has strong 4G and 5G from Orange, SFR, Bouygues and Free, as tracked by ARCEP.
How unlimited are "unlimited" eSIMs in France?
No unlimited travel eSIM for France runs at full speed without limits. Holafly has no gigabyte cap, but its France page caps the hotspot at 1 GB a day and says operators may slow a line for up to a day. Users on r/eSIMs report slowdowns after 2 to 3 GB in a heavy day; Selectra, in September 2026, reported slowdowns only past about 90 GB a month.
The honest alternative is Saily: its 15-day plan at €45.07 publishes a 5 GB daily full-speed cap and leaves the hotspot open, which makes it the pick for laptop work. Jetpac discloses 3 GB a day. Yesim does not publish its threshold, and Maya's no-throttling claim has thin independent backing. The free Firsty tier is a backup, not a line: testers measured 170 to 200 Kbps.
| Plan | Price | Full-speed limit | Hotspot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Holafly 7 days | €25.50 | None stated; slowdowns reported after 2 to 3 GB a day | 1 GB a day |
| Saily 15 days | €45.07* | 5 GB a day, then about 1 Mbps | Unrestricted |
| Jetpac Europe 7 days | €22.99* | 3 GB a day | Not stated |
| Yesim 7 days | €24.50 | Not published | Allowed |
| Firsty Free | €0 | 300 MB a day via ads, measured 170 to 200 Kbps | Not stated |
Provider pages, eSIMDB and Selectra, checked 13 October 2026. * Billed in US dollars, euro figure indicative at 1 US dollar = €0.92.
What people in France report
- − Holafly daily slowdown: Travellers on r/eSIMs report Holafly's unlimited speed collapsing after roughly 2 to 3 GB in a heavy day, then recovering at the next daily reset. Holafly's own France page says operators may slow a line for up to one day. (r/eSIMs threads via SimCorner, 2026)
- ○ Holafly refunds: Holafly scores 4.5 out of 5 on Trustpilot. One reviewer whose trip was cancelled on medical grounds got a full refund without hassle; another needed about four weeks and dozens of emails before the refund arrived. (Trustpilot, 2026)
- ○ Firsty free tier speed: A tester measured the free Firsty tier at about 170 Kbps down and 190 Kbps up. Each ad unlocked 14 to 60 minutes of data depending on the country, and Uber worked without watching ads. (Money Saving Answers review, February 2025)
Paraphrased from public posts, each dated and linked. A small sample, not a representative survey.
France-only or Europe-wide eSIM: which should you buy?
A France-only eSIM is the right buy for a trip that stays inside France, while a regional Europe-wide eSIM is better when your itinerary crosses borders. A France plan is usually cheaper per gigabyte: Airalo Eurolink costs €18.40 for 5 GB, against €9.20 for 10 GB on Ubigi France. Two regional plans break that rule: Ubigi Europe at €13.80 for 10 GB and Yesim Europe & UK at €16.00, the same price as Yesim's France plan.
Switzerland is the trap. It is outside the EU roam-like-at-home rules, and a phone near Geneva or Annecy can latch onto a Swiss network. Ubigi Europe, Yesim, Airalo Eurolink and Orange Holiday all include Switzerland and the UK. Orange Holiday also covers the rest of Europe: €24.99 for 20 GB over 14 days, or €68.99 list (€47.99 on promotion) for 100 GB over 30 days, with calls. Check roaming rules with ARCEP before you rely on a French forfait abroad.
Which eSIM works best in the Alps, the countryside and near borders?
Orange has the best rural network: 83% of rural calls were rated perfect in ARCEP's 2025 quality survey, against 77% for Bouygues, 75% for SFR and 72% for Free. An eSIM inherits its host network, so Airalo, Saily, Holafly and Orange Holiday carry Orange's reach into the mountains. Ubigi and Jetpac have no Orange access, so they are the weaker choice for a ski week.
About 1% of French territory is still a zone blanche with no signal, mostly in the Alps, Pyrenees and Massif Central, and Corsica's interior behaves the same. Download offline maps whatever you buy. Check a specific valley on ARCEP's Mon réseau mobile map. Near Monaco, Bouygues and SFR plans often exclude or cap roaming.
| Network | Rural calls perfect | Mountains | eSIMs on it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Orange | 83% | Best; resorts covered, trails patchy | Airalo, Saily, Holafly, Orange Holiday, Yesim |
| Bouygues | 77% | Good in resorts, weaker on high trails | Saily, Ubigi, My European SIM |
| SFR | 75% | Valleys fine, ridges weak | Ubigi, Jetpac, Nomad, RED |
| Free | 72% | Weakest; not as your only line | Ubigi, Jetpac, Free 5G+ |
ARCEP mobile quality survey 2025 and operator maps, compiled October 2026.
What people in France report
- + Saily speed test in France: A reviewer measured Saily at 354 Mbps on Orange 5G in central Montpellier and 23 Mbps on 4G in rural Saint-Guilhem-le-Désert, while sharing the hotspot with four devices at once without visible throttling. (TechNovice review, April 2026)
- + Ubigi local routing: An Ubigi user in France reported getting a local Paris IP address with low latency. Many travel eSIMs route traffic through a gateway abroad instead, which adds delay to every connection. (eSIMDB user review, May 2025)
- ○ Orange Holiday activation: Reddit users summarised in one review praise Orange Holiday's speed, roaming and French number. The recurring complaints are slow activation after landing, Orange Travel app delays and slow support; a deleted profile cannot be resent. (MicroEsim review (Reddit summary), December 2025)
- − Travel eSIM traffic routing: University researchers bought 25 travel eSIMs and found most sent traffic through third-party networks in other countries, so the visible IP rarely matched the user's location. They flagged privacy exposure for sensitive logins. (USENIX Security 2025, August 2025)
Paraphrased from public posts, each dated and linked. A small sample, not a representative survey.
Which French operators sell an eSIM in October 2026?
All four network operators, Orange, SFR, Bouygues and Free, offer eSIM on every forfait, usually for a €10 fee. French prepaid is a different story: Orange Mobicarte and SFR La Carte are physical-only, and Free sells no prepaid. The only prepaid eSIMs are the tourist products, Orange Holiday and My European SIM, plus Lebara and Lyca Mobile.
La Poste Mobile announced eSIM in September 2026, but ariase still listed it without eSIM in October 2026, so treat it as unavailable. NRJ Mobile, Cdiscount Mobile, Auchan Télécom, Syma and Source have no eSIM. When you switch operator, call 3179 for your free RIO code; under the ARCEP framework the number moves in 3 working days or less.
| Operator (network) | eSIM | Prepaid eSIM | eSIM fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Orange (own) | All forfaits | Orange Holiday / Travel only | €10 |
| Sosh (Orange) | Yes, active within an hour | No prepaid | €10 |
| SFR (own) | All forfaits | No, La Carte is physical | €10, sometimes €0 on promo |
| RED by SFR (SFR) | Yes | No prepaid | €10 |
| Bouygues (own) | All forfaits | My European SIM only | Varies; €20 replacement |
| B&You (Bouygues) | Yes | No prepaid | Per offer; €20 replacement |
| Free Mobile (own) | All forfaits, incl. €2 plan | No prepaid exists | €10 |
| Prixtel (SFR) | All plans; new lines must port a number in | No prepaid | €10, €5 after one year |
| YouPrice (Orange, SFR) | Orange-network plans only | No prepaid | €5 + €1 a month |
| Lebara (SFR) | Yes | Yes, free for new customers | €0 new, €5 replacement |
| Lyca Mobile (Bouygues) | Compatible plans | Yes | Free on eligible plans |
| La Poste Mobile | No (announced, not listed) | No | Physical SIM €9.90 |
| NRJ, Cdiscount, Auchan, Syma, Source | No | No | n/a |
ariase operator roundup, Que Choisir and operator pages, checked 13 October 2026. Orange's €10 conversion fee is reported waived by one source; Orange's customer area is authoritative.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the difference between a travel eSIM and a French operator eSIM?
A travel eSIM (Airalo, Saily, Ubigi, Holafly) is data-only with no French number and installs in minutes from abroad. A French operator eSIM (Orange, SFR, Bouygues, Free and their sub-brands) gives a full forfait with a +33 number, calls and SMS, but needs a French IBAN and an address. Orange Holiday and Bouygues My European SIM sit in between: prepaid, bought with any bank card, with a real French number.
Can a travel eSIM receive French bank or CAF SMS codes?
Almost never. Data-only travel eSIMs have no number at all. As of October 2026, only Orange Holiday (€24.99 for 20 GB over 14 days) and Bouygues My European SIM (€39.90 for 30 days) give a real +33 number that receives bank and government codes without a French bank account. aloSIM's bundled Hushed number is VoIP and not French, and French banks often reject it.
When is a French SIM cheaper than a travel eSIM?
At about 20 GB a month, a RED by SFR contract (€8.99 a month plus a €10 eSIM fee) beats buying a new travel bucket each month after about 29 days. A light 5 GB user needs about 4.9 months to break even. Ubigi's 20 GB monthly plan at €8.28 stays cheaper than RED at every duration, needs no French bank account, and has a three-month minimum.
Is Holafly really unlimited in France?
Holafly has no gigabyte cap, but its France page limits hotspot sharing to 1 GB a day and says operators may slow a line for up to one day. Users report slowdowns after about 2 to 3 GB in a heavy day. Saily's unlimited plan (€45.07 for 15 days) publishes its 5 GB daily full-speed cap and leaves the hotspot unrestricted.
Does a French eSIM work in Switzerland?
Not by default. Switzerland is outside the EU roam-like-at-home rules, so a France-only eSIM or a French forfait can charge roaming near Geneva or Basel. Regional plans that include Switzerland and the UK, such as Ubigi Europe (€13.80 for 10 GB) and Yesim Europe & UK (€16.00 for 10 GB), avoid the problem.
Is my phone compatible with an eSIM in France?
Most recent phones support eSIM: iPhone XS and newer, recent Google Pixel, and recent Samsung Galaxy S and flagship models. Check Settings for an Add eSIM or Add cellular plan option. Carrier-locked phones bought from another operator may block eSIM activation.
Can I keep my home number active while using a French eSIM?
Yes. eSIM lets you run dual SIM, so you keep your home physical SIM for calls and bank codes while a travel or French eSIM handles data. You choose which line is used for data and for calls in your phone settings. This is the setup most travellers use.
Does EU roaming cover France if I already have an EU SIM?
Yes. Under EU roam like at home rules, an EU or EEA SIM works in France at domestic rates with no surcharge, within fair-use data limits. If you live in France long term, a French forfait is still cheaper and avoids permanent-roaming restrictions.
How many GB do I need for a week in France?
For a week in France, roughly 5 to 10 GB covers normal use: maps, messaging, social media, and light browsing. Choose 1 to 3 GB for a light weekend, 10 to 20 GB for two to three weeks, or an unlimited plan if you stream video daily. If you tether a laptop, check the hotspot rules before you buy.
Related Guides
Continue your move to France
Related guides from other parts of How to France that newcomers usually need next.
Entity References
Full factual profiles for each brand covered on this page: